Shafter Big Band – Shafter Kiwanis Club Fundraiser

The Kiwanis Club Fundraiser was a pretty intense show. We had only one set of about eighteen tunes, with no set break! Luckily, the acoustics in the hall were much mellower than last time, and we also had a pretty big stage to work with.

Having a bigger stage meant I could turn my amp up and be heard a little better! For those who don’t play archtop guitars, feedback is a real problem. If I have to stand right in front of my amp, chances are I’m going to have to turn the volume down pretty far. This time I was able to position myself perfectly for optimal volume, which was a huge amount of fun.

There was no dancing during this gig, it was mostly a dinner and lottery. The audience was very appreciative, however, and I think the performance went really well.

Leave a Reply

